top of page


The Public Interest Law Section honors lawyers and nonlawyers for their contributions and dedication to underserved communities. 

The Allan H. Terl Civil Rights Award

This award is presented in tribute to the late Allan H. Terl, recipient of the ACLU's Nelson Poynter Award, Florida Bar President's Pro Bono Award for the Seventeenth Judicial Circuit, and Florida Chief Justice's Tobias Simon Award for his work on lesbian and gay rights. It recognizes excellence in advocacy on behalf of individual rights and responsibilities. 


2022: Alana Greer

2006: Karen M. Doering

2000: Hon. Joseph Hatchett

The Jane Shaeffer Outstanding Homeless Advocate Award

This award recognizes outstanding achievement in advocacy for homeless persons, by an individual who has meaningfully improved conditions or treatment of homeless person, through litigation, policy advocacy, direct service or otherwise, either in specific locale or throughout the State of Florida. The award is open to both members of the Florida Bar and to non-members. 


2022: Kirsten Anderson

2014: Jacqueline Dowd

2012: Bob Dillinger

2010: Jane Shaeffer (posthumous)

The Hon. Hugh S. Glickstein Child Advocate of the Year Award

This award is given to a stellar child advocate who works tirelessly for children's rights. The award is open for both Florida Bar members and non-members. 


2023: Christina Spudeas

2017: Bernard Perlmutter

2015: Robin Rosenberg

2010: Tracey McPharlin

2008: Miami-Dade County Public Defender's Office

2005: Justice Barbara Pariente

2004: Miles McGrane

2002: The Florida Bar Commission on the Legal Needs of Children

2001: Alan. I. Mishael


1999: Rhea Chiles

1998: Judge Thomas K. Peterson

1995: Deborah Schroth

1994: Ronald C. Glickman

1993: George Russ

1992: Constance Gross

1991: Kathy Chinoy

1990: Jack Levine

1989: Audrey Schiebler

1989: Nancy Palmer

The John J. Copelan, Jr. Public Interest Award

This award is presented to a member of the Florida Bar who has made significant contributions to the public interest and specifically the field of public interest law. 


2023: Scott Manion

2018: Anthony C. Musto

2017: Peter Sleasman

2016: John J. Copelan, Jr. 

bottom of page